Your Account Has Fallen Below the Required Minimum Balance: A Memoir

Hello all,

It is dark and snowy here on this Thursday evening in Brooklyn. I got home not too long ago for the gym (I joined a Planet Fitness that’s two stops away), and I’m feeling rather tired but glad I made it my priority today. I’m also sweating on account of the heat blasting in my apartment in combination with the spicy Indian sauce I made to go with dinner.

As you can see, there’s very little to report this week.

Although, my mum will being coming up to visit me this weekend, in a small moving truck with a lovely little couch, bookshelf, bed, and various other home essentials, so I’m really excited about that. Also my love is coming up next weekend, and we’re going to have an amazing time at this slam poetry show (!!!!!!!) that I got tickets for. The show was written by the founder of the slam poetry club at Ithaca, so I’m really excited to be going (especially since I missed it the last time it was running).

Otherwise, I think that’s really all that’s happening down here. I’m continuously trying to find more hours in the day to do things, but it’s very much a constant struggle to blog, have two jobs, freelance write, write/read on my own time, see friends, go to the gym, and cook. Sleep is not happening really (although we had a late start at work on Wednesday, and let me tell you- life looks pretty beautiful when you’ve had 9 hours of dead-to-the-world sleep), and I also somehow seem to be horribly broke. Like, “lemme-see-what’s-hiding-in-the-back-corner-of-my-savings” broke. As in, $3.25 in one account and $11.95 in the other. I’m essentially living on pasta and tofu until my paycheck comes in, which should hopefully be tomorrow or Saturday at the latest. (AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH)

So that’s all to report. I’m going to try to clean my room and unpack the half-full suitcases on my floor and put away everything in the furniture I don’t have, so my mother doesn’t think I’m living like a prepubescent high-schooler who thinks Lysol is a street drug.

Be calm, be observant, but always a little angsty,

jz.

Leave a Reply

