SERIOUSLY IMPORTANT NEWS

I actually don’t know how this happened.

But like actually, I’m kind of still reeling from it all.

Since the hell that fashion week happened, I’ve been slowly but surely getting back into the job application groove. So the other day I saw a job posting about an open position at THE BEST BOOK PUBLISHING COMPANY EVER. Essentially the company that it would be my dream to work for. The position was for an editorial assistant in the department that handles celebrity, pop culture, and humor books. Awesome.

So, even though I knew it was a shot in the dark (as the job application process essentially is) I applied for it. I wrote a brand new kick ass cover letter, updated my resume, and just applied.

Last Thursday, in the middle of the day, I get a surprise call from a woman from HR. After about a 10 minute impromptu interview (in which I was totally unprepared and kind of shitting myself), I find out that THEY WANT TO INTERVIEW ME.

Naturally, I spend the rest of the week preparing my ass off and being more than a little panicky about it. I take work off Monday and interview with a woman in HR (who was pretty scary) and the two editors I would be assisting (who were so incredibly nice and wonderful). My interview process took a total of 2 1/2 hours. By the end I was suffering from severe dry mouth from talking so much. Surprisingly, I left feeling totally calm. I was basically like, “if they didn’t like me, than there’s nothing I can do about it. This is just who I am and that’s that.”

After my interview I was assigned two mini assignments to complete for the editors (which I again, slaved for perfection over). They were due this past Thursday, and Friday (yesterday). Friday (during which I was in charge of running the fashion closet, which was totally bananas, but that’s a different story), I got a call from the HR woman who hired me saying they were moving to the next step, and that they would be calling all my references.

Later that day, at around 5 o’clock, I got the call.

I OFFICIALLY HAVE A JOB WITH AN ACTUAL WAGE AND BENEFITS.

I HAVE ESCAPED THE 12TH CIRCLE OF HELL WHERE INTERNS MUST EXIST AND HAVE LEFT THE INFERNO OF UNEMPLOYMENT.

I HAVE A JOB. I AM AN OFFICIAL ADULT AND NO LONGER A HANGER ON OF SOCIETY.

I’m still in shock. I’m putting in my two weeks notice on Monday for all my positions, after which I will be starting at a job that is exactly where I want to be. I can start my dream career and begin my journey to becoming a book editor.

So this weekend I’m snapping out of my borderline hermetic/agoraphobic depressive state and becoming  a person. I’m in the process of cleaning my room so it no longer looks like a take-out, Netflix addicted, depressed girl-woman lives there (well, some of that can’t be helped actually), and I’m going to start living. I’ve been hating myself for too long feeling like a half person for not having a real job and those days are finally over.

I FINALLY  have a job.

It’s a very strange feeling. I feel extremely…competent if that makes sense, but also still shaky about all of this change. People talk about how challenging transitional periods are, but you can’t really understand it until you’ve experienced one. Reflecting back on everything that’s happened since I’ve moved to the city, it feels very much like this was a lost year almost (I’m still looking at years in school time i.e. September through May).

I don’t want to waste any more time being unhappy, even if I am very much alone here other than C. I want to make greater strides in being outgoing and living instead of hiding out at home and feeling sorry for myself. So, I’m going to take baby steps to get out there and make friends.

So that’s the big news of the century. I’m finally getting somewhere. As opposed to peaking in college (not going to lie, I was pretty convinced I did for a while).

So, so, so happy today.

Leave a Reply

