Rich Girl Status, “Novel” Writing, and Blade Runner

Well hello there!

To say things have been crazy doesn’t even cut it.

As usual, I’ll give you the bullet-ed run down of everything that’s been going on.

– Job from the Gods
New job is AMAZING. People are so incredibly nice and helpful, and it is light years away from the hell I lived in at fashion magazines. There are no politics, no egos, and people with bigger titles than the people at the high fashion magazine I slaved at, say hi to me in the mornings and treat me like a human being. Also, EVERYONE LEAVES BETWEEN 5:30 AND 6. EVERYDAY. It’s not even a big deal, it’s just how it is. I’m still a little shocked by it.
I’m still getting into the swing of things, but it’s going amazingly well. I’m very much happy here (and did I mention that I’m getting PAID? Like real money, not in favors, kindness, or bitcoins. MONEY. So much in fact, that when I checked my bank account after my first paycheck, I thought I was in that Shia LeBeouf movie where the drug lords wire money into his account and blackmail him when he takes it. I CAN PAY MY RENTTTTTT).

– Brooklyn living
Still living in Ditmas Park, BK. There was second where I was going to try to live with C (again) but I just did not have the funds to do it at the time. She was really upset for a while, but she ended up finding a (very small) cute place in Williamsburg where she’s living now. She wants me and S to move in with her in the coming months, but that’s contingent on whether her current roommates are down to leave when S and I want to move in. My back-up plan is to sign a six month lease for my current apartment with le boyfriend when he moves here (yes, I know), because he’ll need a place to live, and he really likes my apartment. Plus a lot of my furniture won’t fit in the place with C, so it would work out pretty well for all of us.
UPDATE: It turns out roommate is no longer planning on moving to Astoria, and is in fact planning on staying in this apartment and having girlfriend move back in with him. Soooo definitely hoping that C’s roommates don’t get too comfortable…

– Le boyfriend
Things are going very well šŸ™‚ We celebrated our one-year anniversary Marcvh 27th, and went to Virginia Beach so he could get re-certified in unarmed stage combat (how cool is that?). We mostly did a lot of driving to and from NYC, but it was a really fun road trip for both of us. It’s definitely hard being apart, but we’re doing well considering that we’ve basically been in a long-distance relationship for longer than we’ve been together o_O (which is just bizarre to think about). We’re going to Florida for Easter weekend with my parents in two weeks, which I’m very excited about šŸ™‚

– Israel
Before this job I applied to Birthright because I decided that I needed to do some traveling, job applications be damned. Naturally when it rains it pours, so not only did I get accepted, but both my brother and sister did as well. So we’ll be going to the same program together in the summer. It’s going to be amazing. I’ve never been before, and while I’m most certainly not religious, it’s a great opportunity to see a place that I probably wouldn’t visit otherwise.

– Novel
So this is definitely an update that makes me happy. I’m finally getting shit done with this book I’ve had in my head since senior year of college. It’s evolving and changing and getting wonderfully complicated, and I can’t wait to get to a good place with it. I have about 30 pages or so, but a lot of it I have to rewrite, and I haven’t finished story boarding, but once I finish that, I plan to go back and edit/move forward. I’m really excited.

– Books
I’ve been reading A LOT. Like a lot, a lot. At this stage, I think I’m somewhere at a book a week roughly. I just went to the Strand and spent about 30 bucks and got four really good books: The Marriage Plot (Jeffrey Eugenides), Dune (Frank Herbert), Neuromancer (William Gibson), and Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? (Philip K. Dick — the book that inspired Blade Runner). I also just finished Ursula Le Guinn’s The Left Hand of Darkness (which was okay, not as great as I thought it would be) and I have Stephen King’s It and H.G. Well’s War of the Worlds on deck (in addition to the books listed above obviously). So I’ve got a lot of adventures ready and waiting. They’re all stacked on the side of my bed that I don’t sleep on, and I think I’ve been sleeping better as a result (it’s weird I know, but boyfriend isn’t here, so just go with it).

So yeah! That’s my long list of updates. I’m starting to get into the groove of things here. It’s taken me a long time to be happy and find my place here, and while it’s still very much a work in progress, I think I’m doing okay.

See you next week!

Love, wine, and books, books, books,

jz.

Leave a Reply

