Israel, Boss Man, and Eternal Internal Conflict

Hi All,

At the moment, I kinda feel like I could collapse.

The long and short of it is that due to the reshuffling at my company (and people moving on to other jobs) I now have yet a third boss. He’s a VP and Executive Editor, so I’m essentially working for him (for who knows how long, they haven’t said if it’s temporary or not), an Executive Editor, and a Senior Editor. Needless to say, I’m working like a fiend.

I have to say though, even though I’m working on quite a few sports books with my new boss (I’m not a very sporty individual in case you couldn’t tell) I really enjoy working with him. He’s really sweet and funny, and I’m learning a lot I probably wouldn’t otherwise. It’s a hell of a lot more work, but I suppose that’s a good thing– after all, one of these I’m going to say fuck it and go off and write novels, so I may as well work my ass while I can.

Updates are as follows:

– Le boyfriend is off in Maine shooting the zombie film. His first day on set is tomorrow, so we shall see what happens! I’m so excited.

– On Sunday I leave for Israel with my brother and sister, so I will be far far away for two weeks on Birthright which is fantastic (I could use the vacation) but also slightly bad timing, as new boss has to transmit 3 books next week, and there’s no one that is able to help out (fun fact: I’m the only assistant left in my department). It’s going to be an amazing experience though– I’m curious to see how it goes.

To be totally honest, I don’t really have much else to report (this could also be the result of having a massive headache from lack of food and from staring at a computer screen all day).

My final thought/confession of the day: I’m horribly conflicted. 50% of me would like to be a corporate CEO with a fuck ton of money and power who runs shit and creates beautiful books and makes things happen. The other 50% of me wants to get a ton of tattoos and a septum piercing, smoke weed when I feel like it, go to the gym whenever I want to, have my own organic garden, cook lavish vegan meals of my own creation, and write books all day long.

I don’t have enough energy to explain myself more thoroughly. Just know that I’m internally at war, and I don’t really know who’s going to win. Ideally, both sides will get a victory.

Until next time dolls (get excited for Israel recaps)–

 

jz.

Leave a Reply

